



OVERSEAS PATIENTS FROM COUNTRIES WITH RECIPROCAL AGREEMENTS WITH AUSTRALIA

Overseas visitors holding a valid visa and being a resident of a Reciprocal Health Care Agreement (RHCA) country are eligible for 'medically necessary' treatment. 'Medically necessary' treatment covers ill-health or injury that occurs while visiting Australia and requires treatment before their return home.

The following countries have reciprocal agreements with the Australian Government:

- Belgium
- Finland
- Italy
- Netherlands
- Malta
- New Zealand (includes Tokelau and Niue islands)
- Norway
- Republic of Ireland
- Slovenia
- Sweden
- United Kingdom (includes Northern Ireland)

To be treated as an RHCA public patient you need to inform the hospital staff and provide evidence of eligibility, such as a passport and/or European Health Insurance Card.

The period of cover under the RHCA differs between countries: Residents of the United Kingdom, Sweden, Finland and Norway

Residents of the United Kingdom, Sweden, Finland and Norway are covered for the duration of the approved visit to Australia. <u>Visitors from Belgium, the Netherlands and Slovenia require their European Health Insurance Card to enrol and are eligible until the expiry date indicated on their card or the duration of their stay, whichever is earlier. Those from Malta and Italy are covered for the first 6 months from their initial date of arrival in Australia.</u>

NOTE: Reciprocal agreements only cover PUBLIC admissions. If you choose to be admitted as a private patient then full overseas rates as applicable will be charged and you will be responsible for all charges. Prosthetic items, pharmaceutical medicines and some care items are not covered under reciprocal agreements and charges will be raised for these items.

For more information on RHCA and countries participating go to: https://www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/enablers/participating-rhca-countries.





